The Champagne terroirs

The strength of the Independant Champagne Winemakers Association lies in its ability to offer a large diversity of authentic and original champagnes, grown from individually or family owned plots.

The plots are located in nearly 200 different communities among the 319 which compose the champagne growing region, located within 5 different French departments (the Marne, the Aube, the Aisne, the Haute-Marne and the Seine-et-Marne). There are 4 principal growing areas:

- the Montagne de Reims

- the Marne Valley

- the Côte des Blancs

- the Côte des Bar

The expression of each grape variety differs according to the nature of the soils, exposure and age of the vines, which in turn contributes to the multiplicity of champagnes available.